Using a Diabetic Food Exchange List and Other Diet Tips

Using a diabetic food exchange list and other diabetes menu-planning tools can help you follow a healthy diet without sacrificing food variety and taste. If you have diabetes or are at risk of developing it, the way you eat can have a big impact on your overall health and how you feel on a daily basis.

Diabetes Menu Planning

As a diabetic or pre-diabetic, you need to eat a variety of wholesome foods every day and stick to regular mealtimes. A proper diabetes diet is not so much about restricting foods as it is about eating the right things. Your diet should be low in fat and calories but high in nutritional value. Using food exchange lists and planning your meals ahead of time can help you create a healthy eating plan you can stick with and enjoy.

If you have diabetes or pre-diabetes, it’s a good idea to visit a nutritionist, especially if this is your first time putting together a meal plan. A professional nutritionist can evaluate your needs, recommend food exchanges, and teach you about portion control. To keep your blood glucose level low and maintain a healthy weight, you need to eat a nutrient-rich diet that contains a lot of fruits, vegetables and whole grains. Make sure to keep the calories and fat consumption low. Eating too much fat can quickly cause a spike in your glucose level. Switching over to a healthy low-fat diet will not only keep your diabetes or pre-diabetes in check, it can also help you lose pounds and improve your overall health.

Your diet should include complex carbohydrates, lean proteins, healthy fats and fiber-rich products. While sticking to any sort of diet might make you feel limited in your choices, it’s important to keep in mind that there are dozens of different foods you can eat without worrying about your health. Healthy doesn’t automatically mean restrictive.

You can use a diabetic food exchange list to come up with delicious and varied meals that are good for keeping your blood glucose level down and maintaining a healthy weight. The exchange system is made up of different categories of food such as carbohydrates, meat, fats, sweets, fruits and free foods. Each category contains a number of foods that you can rotate on a daily basis.

It’s best to ask your doctor or nutritionist how many exchanges you are limited to on a daily basis and how to spread them out correctly. In addition to using a diabetic food exchange list, remember to keep track of carbohydrates and fats. Avoid foods that contain a lot of cholesterol, trans fats, saturated fats and sodium. Always practice portion control. Eating healthy foods in moderation is the key to staying healthy and happy.


To Diabetes Diet Tools Home from Using a Diabetic Food Exchange List

To Diabetic Food Pyramid from Diabetes Food Exchanges



Recent Articles

  1. Eye Problems From Diabetes

    Nov 06, 14 05:23 AM

    Facts about eye problems from diabetes in easy to read question and answer format allowing you to easily find the information your seeking.

    Read More

  2. Discussing Diabetes With Doctor

    Nov 05, 14 06:26 AM

    Facts about discussing diabetes with doctor in easy to read question and answer format allowing you to easily find the information your seeking.

    Read More

  3. Diabetics Blood Sugar

    Nov 05, 14 05:36 AM

    Facts about diabetics blood sugar in easy to read question and answer format allowing you to easily find the information your seeking.

    Read More


Related Content Pages


Table Of Contents

Tier 1 (Home Page)

www.diabetes-diet-tools.com


Tier 2

Welcome

News: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-diet-blog

About Diabetes: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/facts-about-diabetes

Prevention: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/prevention-of-diabetes

Gifts: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/healthy-food-gifts


Types Of Diabetes

Type 1 Diabetes: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/type-1-diabetes-prevention

Type 2 Diabetes: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/information-about-type-2-diabetes

Juvenile Diabetes: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/symptoms-of-juvenile-diabetes

Gestational Diabetes: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diet-for-gestational-diabetes

Pre Diabetes: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/pre-diabetes-diet

Diabetes In Dogs: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-in-dogs


Health And Diet

Heart Health: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/heart-healthy-diabetic-diet

Choosing Foods: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetic-food-pyramid

The Glycemic Index: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/what-is-the-glycemic-index

Calorie Diets: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetic-diet-sheet

Specific Diets: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-diet-guidelines

Vegetarian And Vegan: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetic-vegetarian-diet

Weight Loss: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-weight-loss-diet


Health Information

Diabetes Appointments: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-appointments

Diabetes Clothing: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-clothing

Diabetes Cure: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-cure

Diabetes Footwear: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-footwear

Diabetes Health: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-health

Diabetes Health Issues: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/health-issues-of-diabetes

Diabetes In Bed: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-in-bed

Diabetes Infection: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-infection

Diabetes Information: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-information

Diabetes Nutrients: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-nutrients

Diabetes Protection: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-protection

Diabetes Stroke Risk: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-stroke-risk

Diabetes Technology: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-technology

Diabetic Absorption From Impact: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetic-absorption-from-impact

Diabetics Blood Pressure: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/blood-pressure-in-diabetics

Diabetics Blood Sugar: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetics-blood-sugar

Diabetics Feet: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetics-feet

Healthy Diabetes Diet: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/healthy-diabetes-diet


Keep In Touch

Healthy Diabetic Living: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/healthy-diabetic-living

Add Your Recipe: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetic-food-recipes

Contact: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/foods-for-a-diabetic

About Me: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetic-diet-ideas

FAQ: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/diabetes-faq

Privacy Policy: www.diabetes-diet-tools.com/privacy-policy


Stay Connected


Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)
Then

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Healthy Diabetic Living.